Our Department / Program

Department Head: William Byrd, MD

The Department of Ophthalmology at Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-Shreveport welcomes your interest in our department and residency program.

We are one of only two educational medical centers in the Louisiana State University educational system and the only Level I Trauma Center in the state of Louisiana. We function as a primary care hospital for the people of Northwest Louisiana and as a secondary and tertiary referral center for the rest of the state. As the only center in North Louisiana, we receive referral patients from as far south as Lake Charles in the western part of the state, from Alexandria in the center, and from the Mississippi Delta to the east. Our hospital provides a unique blend of indigent and private care for the people in our area, and provides an excellent setting for the training of physicians in state-of-the art-medicine.

Our residency training program includes three hospitals; University Health Shreveport, the Overton Brooks Veterans Administration Medical Center, both in Shreveport, and University Health Conway in Monroe.  Each of these hospitals contributes to resident education and patient care in a unique and special way.

In addition to providing broad general comprehensive ophthalmologic care, our department also provides consultative services to referring physicians covering the following subspecialities:

  • Uveitis
  • Cornea and external disease
  • Glaucoma
  • Neuro-ophthalmology
  • Retina and vitreal disorders
  • Ophthalmic plastics
  • Orbital disease
  • Pediatric ophthalmology

We hope you will continue to explore this web page to gain further insights into the services offered by our ophthalmology department and to gain a better understanding of the functioning and structure of our residency program.