LSU Health Sciences Center Shreveport, Department of Pharmacology Toxicology & Neuroscience, Graduate School Shreveport Louisiana, PhD, Masters, MD PhD, lab research, LSU Health Shreveport 


Welcome to the Department of Pharmacology, Toxicology & Neuroscience!

A major emphasis of the Department is in the areas  of neuropharmacology, neuroscience, and toxicology, with research in:

  • Molecular mechanisms in addiction: methamphetamine, cocaine, and alcohol
  • Leading edge technology in transgenic and gene vector approaches: CRISPR and optogenetics
  • Research in neurodegenerative diseases: Alzheimer’s, Parkinson’s, Huntington’s, and ALS
  • Toxicology, kidney function, and therapeutic interventions
  • Molecular mechanisms in cancer


To find out more about summer research opportunities for undergraduates, click here!

Graduate Program Information
The application period for the fall of 2019 will open on GradCAS on October 1, 2018. 

For more information contact:
Dr. Nicholas Goeders at or Ty Martinez at








Click here to view our current Faculty


Click here to view our current Graduate Students 

Dr. Hugh Nam

In the News

Congratulations to Dr. Hugh Nam who was named as one of several key research personnel on the COBRE grant for his research in “Neurogranin Regulation of Nitric Oxide Signaling in Cardiovascular Disease”.

Madison ElSaadi

Congratulations Madison!

Graduate Student, Madison El-Saadi, was awarded the Ike Muslow Predoctoral Fellowship grant on May 14, 2018. 


In the News

Congratulations to Dr. Kenneth McMartin who was recently awarded the American Academy of Clinical Toxicology (AACT) Distinguished Service Award at the North American Congress of Clinical Toxicology (NACCT) meeting in Chicago on October 26, 2018. This award recognizes Dr. McMartin as an individual who has performed outstanding and dedicated work on behalf of the AACT and the field of clinical toxicology. 

View the full story here.

In the News

Congratulations to Dr. Kenneth McMartin who was recently awarded an R15 grant for his research on neurotoxicity and nephrotoxicity of diglycolic acid: a model of calcium chelation induced mitochondrial dysfunction.


In the News

View a special report by KMSS Fox 33 on Dr. Goeders' latest work with meth addiction. View part 2 here.

Check out Dr. Goeders' latest interview with 710 KEEL News here.