Boyd Professorships

Boyd Professorships are the LSU System's highest designated professorial rank. Authorized by the LSU Board of Supervisors in 1952, these are awarded to faculty scholar-researchers who have attained singular international recognition in their respective academic disciplines. The professorships honor brothers who served as presidents of the LSU System: David French Boyd (1865-1880  and 1884-1886) and Thomas Duckett Boyd (1896-1927).

Our faculty currently includes two Boyd Professors:

  • D. Neil Granger, PhD, Boyd Professor of Molecular and Cellular Physiology; 1998
  • Dennis J. O'Callaghan, PhD, Boyd Professor of Microbiology and Immunology; 2002