Drs. Kevin McCarthy, Stephan Witt and William Byrd continue to lead their departments. 

New department chairs named

LSU Health Shreveport has named two chairmen in the school’s Basic Science departments and another in a Clinical Science department.

Dr. Kevin McCarthy has been named chair of the Department of Cellular Biology & Anatomy and Dr. Stephan Witt has been named the chair of the Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology. Both have served as interim chairs in their respective departments since March 2016. McCarthy joined the LSU Health faculty in 1997 and has served as Director of Research for the Department of Pathology and as well as a member of the Research Advisory Committee for the School of Medicine. Witt joined the health sciences center in 1993 and serves on the school’s Graduate Student Recruitment and Faculty Search committees. 

Dr. William Byrd has been named the permanent Chairman of the Department of Ophthalmology after serving in the interim role for a year. Dr. Byrd joined the faculty in 1982 and currently serves as Chairman of the Clinical Competency Committee (ACGME Milestones), as well as a member of the Trauma Committee, Antibiotic Committee and Quality Control Committee. A member of the American Academy of Ophthalmology, Louisiana State Medical Society and Shreveport Medical Society, Dr. Byrd has served as a consultant at the VA Medical Center since 1987.