School of Medicine Awards and Scholarships

A broad program of student aid is administered to offer needy and deserving students opportunities to defray expenses through awards, scholarships, and loans.

The awards and scholarships listed in this section are designed to recognize high ideals and scholarship among students.

Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Student Award

Pattie W. Van Hook, M.D. Memorial Award

Shreveport Medical Society Honor Award

Dr. & Mrs. Adrian F. Reed Memorial Award

Faculty Award for Academic Achievement

LSMS Organized Medicine Award

John C. McDonald Award

Robert T. Lucas Award

Michael O. Fleming, M.D. Family Medicine Award

Internal Medicine Award for Excellence

John Odita, M.D. Department of Radiology Outstanding Medical Student Award

Faculty Award to a Graduating Medical Student for Excellence in Surgery

Lewis Gottlieb Scholar Award

Robert K. Womack Memorial Award

Eugene C. St. Martin Excellence in Urology Award

Excellence in Ophthalmology Awards

Department of Orthopaedic Surgery Outstanding Student Award

Donald R. Smith Award for Excellence in Neurosurgery

Chancellor’s Award

Ike Muslow, M.D. Visionary Award

Ascension Delgado Smith Excellence Award

Drs. Alice and Joe Holoubek LSU Medical School Founder Award

Don and Ruby Horton Generosity of Spirit Award

Outstanding House Officer

Adrian F. Reed Award for Outstanding Basic Science Instructor

Clarence Webb Award for Outstanding Clinical Instructor

Society for Academic Emergency Medicine (SAEM)

Excellence in Emergency Medicine Award

Department of Emergency Medicine Faculty Award

Genesis Emergency Medicine Service Award

Department of Family Medicine Arthur T. Fort, III, M.D. Chairman’s Award

Ralph W. Baucum, Jr., M.D. Scholarship Award

LAMMICO Award for Excellence

Louisiana Medical Society Alliance Award

Horace E. Thompson, M.D. Memorial Award for Excellence in Obstetrics and Gynecology

Reid Chadwick Memorial Award

Student Activities Yearbook Award

Aaron Selber, Jr. Leadership Award

Bick Award for Excellence in Psychiatry

Dr. Amy Ashford Yates Memorial Award in Pediatrics

William A. McBride, Jr., M.D. Award in Psychiatry